Matt's Buzzers

Previous Recipients

We thank all of the teams who applied and wish them all much future success.


2015 Recipients (Selected on December 5, 2015)

Rucker Stewart Middle School, Gallatin, TN

Traverse City West Senior High, Traverse City, MI

Poplar Bluff High School, Poplar Bluff, MO

Porum High School, Porum, OK

Waukee High School, Waukee, IA

Field Community Consolidated District #3, Texico, IL

Rochester High School, Rochester, IN

St. Margaret Mary School, Harrisburg, PA

Lake Taylor Middle School, Norfolk, VA

Copley-Fairlawn Middle School, Copley, OH


2005 Recipients

  • O'Fallon H.S. Scholastic Bowl Team, O'Fallon, IL
  • Regina H.S. Quiz Bowl Team, Iowa City, IA
  • Sesser-Valier Scholastic Bowl team, Sesser, IL
  • Bloomington H.S. Scholastic Bowl Team, Bloomington, IL
  • Fairfield Community H.S. Scholastic Bowl Team, Fairfield, IL
  • Auburn H.S. Scholastic Bowl Team, Rockford, IL
  • Winnebago H.S. Scholastic Bowl Team, Winnebago, IL
  • Cutter Morning Star Gifted Program, Hot Springs, AR
  • Pikes Peak Christian School Matchwits Team, Colorado Springs, CO


2008 Recipients

  • Thornton Fractional North High School, Calumet City, IL
  • Wellington High School Scholars' Bowl, Wellington, KS
  • McLoud Intermediate School Redskins Academic Team, McLoud, OK
  • Charles Page High School Academic Team, Sand Springs, OK
  • Riley County High School Scholars' Bowl, Riley, KS
  • Althoff Catholic High School Crusaders Academic Team, Belleville, IL
  • Harrold Middle School Spartans Academic Team, Greensburg, PA
  • Nathanael Greene Academy Patriots Academic Team, Siloam, GA
  • Central High School Dragons Academic Team, Martinsburg, PA
  • Union Local High School Jets Academic Team, Bethesda, OH
  • Special Award to: Bay Area High School Circuit, Berkley, CA


2011 Recipients (Selected in December 2011)

  • Joliet Catholic Academy, Joliet, IL
  • Raytown South High School, Raytown, MO
  • Menlo-Atherton High School, Atherton, CA
  • G. C. Burkhead Elementary School, Elizabethtown, KY
  • East Jessamine High School, Nicholasville, KY
  • Boardman High School, Boardman, OH
  • Scottsdale Preparatory Academy, Scottsdale, AZ
  • Wauconda High School, Wauconda, IL
  • Manheim Township Middle School, Lancaster, PA
  • Notre Dame High School, Clarksburg, WV

2011 Second Chance Recipients (Selected in January 2012)

Thanks to Donald Taylor and Matt Laird and their Pop Culture Tournament.

  • Peninsula High School, Gig Harbor, WA
  • Dos Pueblos High School, Goleta, CA

2011 Third Chance Recipient (Selected in May 2012)

Thanks to Donald Taylor (again) and The Northern Illinois University Quiz Bowl Association.

  • Sonoraville High School, Calhoun, GA


2014 Recipients

  • Glenwood Middle School, Chatham, IL
  • Jackson High School, Jackson, OH
  • Conner Middle School, Hebron, KY
  • Huntington, Chillicothe, OH
  • St. Andrew's Episcopal School, Ridgeland, MS
  • St. John Lutheran School, Napoleon, OH
  • Mound City R 2, Mound City, MO
  • Metro Christian Academy, Tulsa, OK
  • Clover Hill High School, Midlothian, VA
  • Ahlf Junior High School, Searcy, AR
  • Fayetteville High School, Fayetteville, AR

2006 Recipients

  • Northeast High Academic Team, St. Petersburg, FL
  • Maine South Scholastic Bowl Team, Park Ridge, IL
  • Streamwood Scholastic Bowl Team, Streamwood, IL
  • Leslie County Academic Team, Hyden, KY
  • Todd County Middle School Academic Team, Elkton, KY
  • John Glenn H.S. Quiz Bowl Team, Westland, MI
  • Kent City Quiz Bowl Team, Kent City, MI
  • North Quiz Bowl Team, St. Paul, MN
  • Wayzata H.S. Quiz Bowl Team, Plymouth, MN
  • Ocean Springs Middle School Quiz Bowl Team, Ocean Springs, MS
  • Parry McCluer H.S. Academic Team, Buena Vista, VA


2009 Second Chance Recipients (Selected in March 2010)

Thank you Donald Taylor for your generous donation that made these possible.

  • Sebring McKinley High School, Sebring, OH
  • Valparaiso High School, Valparaiso, IN

2009 Recipients

  • St. James Middle School, St. James, MO
  • Athens High School, Athens, IL
  • La Crosse High School, McCracken, KS
  • Norman North High School, Norman, OK
  • Mt. Olive High School/Junior High, Mt. Olive, IL
  • Murfreesboro High School, Murfreesboro, AR
  • Santa Fe Trail High School, Carbondale, KS
  • White City High School, White City, KS
  • Slocomb High School, Slocomb, AL
  • Timberlake High School, Helena, OK
  • Bremen High School, Bremen, IN
  • Northrop High School, Ft. Wayne, IN

2012 Gate City Bank Donation Recipient (Selected in September 2012)

  • The Piarist School, Martin, KY

2012 Recipients (Selected in December 2012)

  • Southwestern High School, Piasa, IL
  • Hydro-Eakly Public Schools, Hydro, OK
  • Princeton Day School, Princeton, NJ
  • Stillman Valley High School, Stillman Valley, IL
  • Massac County High School, Metropolis, IL
  • Crete Monee High School, Crete, IL
  • Cairo High School, Cairo, IL
  • Marion High School, Marion, IL
  • Dutchtown High School, Geismar, LA
  • AMSA Charter School, Marlborough, MA
  • Treasure Valley Math and Science Center, Boise, ID

2012 Second Chance Recipient (Selected in May 2013)

  • Adair County High School, Columbia, KY

2007 Recipients

  • Patoka High School Scholar Bowl Team, Patoka, IL
  • Tates Creek High School Academic Team, Lexington, KY
  • Washington Middle School Brain Bowl Team, Washington, MO
  • Lidgerwood Public High School Academic Team, Lidgerwood, ND
  • North Babylon High School Academic Team, North Babylon, NY
  • Galion City School Academic Challenge Team, Galion, OH
  • Wakita School Quiz Bowl Teams, Wakita, OK
  • Belle Isle Enterprise Middle School Academic Team, Oklahoma City, OK
  • Heavener High School Academic Team, Heavener, OK
  • Moore West Junior High Academic Team, Oklahoma City, OK
  • Big Horn School Academic Challenge Team, Sheridan, WY


2010 Second Chance Recipients (Selected in May 2011)

     Thanks, once again, to Donald       Taylor's generous donation.

  • Diamond Bar High School, Diamond Bar, CA
  • Paul Laurence Dunbar High School, Lexington, KY

2010 Recipients

  • West Branch High School, Beloit, OH
  • Pensacola High School, Pensacola, FL
  • Alton Junior High School,Alton, MO
  • Warren G Harding High School, Warren, OH
  • Stigler Middle School, Stigler, OK
  • Williamson Central School District, Williamson, NY
  • Porum Elementary School, Porum, OK
  • Chicago Christian High School, Palos Heights, IL
  • Youngstown East High School, Youngstown, OH
  • Utica Academy for International Studies, Sterling Heights, MI

2013 Recipients (Selected in December 2013)

  • Blue Grass Baptist School, Lexington, KY
  • Parma Senior High School, Parma, OH
  • Bartram Trail High School, Saint Johns, FL
  • Sacred Heart of Jesus Parish School, Wadsworth, OH
  • Hingham High School, Hingham, MA
  • Des Arc High School, Des Arc, AR
  • Rock Creek High School, Bokchito, OK
  • Manheim Township High School, Lancaster, PA
  • Middlebury Union High School, Middlebury, VT
  • F.W. Buchholtz High School, Gainesville, FL


2013 Special Grant Recipient 

(Selected in December 2013 and made possible by donations from Ellen Pazdro, Andrew Hart, Joey Goldman, Jacob Reed and Haohang Xu)

  • Springville Middle School, Springville, AL

2013/2014 Second Chance Grant Recipients 

(Selected in May 2014 and made possible by donations from Scarsdale High School Quiz Bowl Team, Loyola Academy and SCOP (Scholastic Community Outreach Program))

  • Fort Loramie High School, Fort Loramie, OH
  • Mesquite High School, Gilbert, AZ
Questions or Problems?  Contact